top of page
Search
Writer's pictureShradha Singh

Bus Ride Beginnings

Updated: Aug 23, 2021

“Toh tum jata ki nai?” asked the bus conductor dismissively : so, are you going or not?


“Ji,” I replied: Yes


I looked at my watch. It was quarter to 1. This bus, set for Rakiraki, left at 1.30. I was in no rush. It was a nice Monday afternoon. We were headed off to good old Rakiraki, home to spectacular sunsets and hot lazy summer days. Summer weather is like an all-time weather in Fiji....like all the time. Even in the winter season.



To those that have been here, would ya stop snickering. it does get cold...... sometimes.

 

“Card lao,” said the guy.

(Give me you e-ticketing card)


He looked about my age.Too young to be selling bus tickets or.... tapping bus cards. But then again in times are as such, being employed was a blessing in itself.


Even I dreaded thinking about my future in the employment sector after finishing my university studies. I mean, wasn't it only a few months ago that I had determined my goals. How quickly did things start to grow bleak? How quickly did everything turn upside down? Economies have started to collapse and the future couldn’t be more uncertain.


Another sign of the last days, my mother would say. My Christian upbringing would agree. Growing up, listening to preachers speaking of the state of the world before the coming of the messiah and the sudden turn of events was only a matter of expectation.


Matthew 24:6–8: “And you shall hear of wars and rumors of wars: see that you be not troubled: for all these things must come to pass, but the end is not yet. For nation shall rise against nation, and kingdom against kingdom: and there shall be famines, and pestilences, and earthquakes, in diverse places. All these are the beginning of sorrows.”

Mark 13:19: “For in those days shall be affliction, such as was not from the beginning of the creation which God created to this time, neither shall be”

The Corona pandemic had just reaffirmed my beliefs and I knew that things weren't going to get any better. If anything, world affairs were headed for a downward spiral.


I handed the guy my e-ticketing card silently hoping that it would have enough funds, saving me the hassle of going to the bus station to recharge again.

Yeah, yeah call me lazy but bus stands are noisy and crowded, I would like to stay where I am, thank you very much ;)


 

Beep. Transaction successful. Phew. I breathed a sigh of relief, took my receipt and headed for the cleanest seating possible.


Over the years bus conditions have grown better. But it’s no surprise to see even today, rickety old buses puffing black exhaust and blaring reggae music.

Would saying that “it’s part of the culture” change the fact that most buses are OHS hazards. I’ll leave you to decide that.


The bus was empty. Choosing a location close to the middle. I slid into the 3-seat section and mounted my bags on the tray overhead and sat down, waiting patiently.

Travelling with me today, were a couple of close friends. Friends I loved dearly. Friends I had been together with since high school. I smiled as I gazed out the window. Friends that needed to know about the love of God. All in due time, shradha. All in due time.

Outside it was business as usual. Bean carts lining the sidewalks, people milling about. Children running barefoot, tugging on the skirts of their moms for things that kids usually want when they come to town.


"Yaha baithe ga? : so this is where we will sit? ". I turned around. Two of my friends were here.


I beamed.

"Ha (yes). The wind is nice in this spot".

My friend sat next to me. "Save the back seat for the rest acha".

"Sure".

1: 15.


People were slowly starting to board the bus. A Fijian family of 5 boarded next. There were 3 kids and 2 ladies. Their eyes searched for a spot.


"ke, ke," the lady motioned to the kids, the seat in front of me. (here, here)


There were 2 boys and a girl. The little girl who was held by her mother looked about wide eyed, curious. Their mom’s gaze fell upon me and I smiled politely.


They took their seats. The little girl was dressed in a pink sweatshirt and had started to doze on her mother’s shoulder.


Meanwhile, the boys were busy bouncing on the seats. Inwardly I wished I could be a kid again. Not having to worry about life and its turmoils. They asked for something from their mom in Fijian, who opened up her bag and gave them a food container. Probably a snack to keep them still.


Suddenly, my eyes shifted to see two familiar figures loaded with bags, shuffling past. Both seemed breathless. I grinned.


“Hey you made it,".

"And just in time,” replied the other friend.

“What time does this bus leave?”

“1:30,”.





I slid open the window a

little wider. It was already getting a little stuffy in here. I didn’t see it before but just below my window sat a Fijian bloke in a wheel barrow.






Yup. Its definitely a Monday for this guy here.

The kids in the front were busy munching on fried taro. A middle-aged Fijian woman with 2 kids stood outside the bus. Maybe a family that came to see this family off. To my surprise the other boy picked up a handful of chips and passed it to the children outside. The kids stood on tip-toe, received the snack went back to their mom. Eyes displaying delight, before they too munched happily.


“Wow,” I thought. This kid looked barely 8 and yet displayed the generosity that was greater than words could explain. You see, children are very territorial. I certainly was when I was a kid. I knew what was “mine” and wished good luck to anyone who tried to switch the channel when I watched my cartoons.


Eventually I learned. We all do. But what I saw today was truly incredible.



“Globalization doesn’t affect them,” said the voice beside me.

Puzzled, I followed my friend’s gaze to the Fijian woman who stood outside dressed in a sulu and a t-shirt.

I chuckled, amused by my friend’s observations. This was very true.


Tell an Indo-Fijian to come to town and they come dressed as if it’s the world pageant. This of course can’t be said for everyone, for it is merely an observation of mine. Our Fijian brothers and sisters on the other hand, have simple priorities. Love for God and family above all. Not a care in the world for anything else.


My mind drifted.


It was 2016, just a day after a category 5 cyclone, “TC Winston” had ravaged our shores. My family decided to go around the neighborhood to check on our friends. People everywhere were devastated but what I saw that day, I will never forget.


A group of young I-Taukei boys whilst walking by the roadside were singing their hearts out. Of all things, this I did not expect. I can still remember it as clear as day. Later on, I asked this question, what is it that makes them so carefree, so easy going? Many people will say it’s just the island way. To me it’s deeper than just that. This is because they believe and know God’s got them covered.

Here let me explain:


Matthew 6:25-27 “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?  Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life?”

Psalm 55:22 “Cast your burden on the LORD, and he will sustain you”

Philippians 4:6-7do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus”

1 Peter 5:7 “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you”

Luke 21:14-15, 18-19 “But make up your mind not to worry beforehand how you will defend yourselves. For I will give you words and wisdom that none of your adversaries will be able to resist or contradict….  But not a hair of your head will perish. Stand firm, and you will win life”


Then I look at village life. The communal way of association that is practiced in villages stands in complete contrast to the convergence into modern living. And yet there is something so beautiful about growing up and sharing each other’s needs and necessities. Maybe that was exactly what I saw a while ago. These people lived out The Word in their lives.


I was pulled out of my reverie as the bus engine roared to life.


Finally, home bound at last. The driver maneuvered the bus out of the bay and chugged along the Suva afternoon traffic.


Thinking back, I now knew the reason to my times of worry, indecision and anxiety, I lacked trust in the word of God. I had learned a deep lesson.



Psalm 112:7 They will have no fear of bad news; their hearts are steadfast, trusting in the LORD.

No matter how bad things got now, because I know it would, I decided to renew my trust in Jesus.

Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm give you, plans to you hope and a future.”

The bus started to gain speed, and the family that had come to say good bye to, waved to the folks in the front till they were out of sight.


I sat back feeling the wind against my face. Inwardly happy, inwardly satisfied. Weellll, I wonder what mum is cooking for dinner tonight.

#fiji #lifelessons #islandlife

65 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All

6 則留言


Shradha Singh
Shradha Singh
2020年7月17日

Hey Vera! Yes the other language that the lady speaks is Fijian. 🥰

按讚

VERA
2020年7月17日

Is that other Language Fijian?

按讚

Shradha Singh
Shradha Singh
2020年7月11日

Thank you all for your comments. I read them over and over again, to convince myself this isn't a dream. Pinched myself too. Haha. Thank You Love shradha

按讚

faizahsaleem786
2020年7月09日

Just love it 😍...i hate reading to be frank (u know) but ur writings make me eager to read more...all the best n so looking forward to more awesome contents. Your blogs n perspective of life will surely imprint great pictures n instill inspiration n positivity into lives of many..it surely has in mine 🤗

按讚

Viti Time
Viti Time
2020年7月09日

Lovessss

按讚
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page